Keeping track of articles and papers

A couple of years ago I wrote about Mendeley, a software programme that you can download and use to save and organise your pdf files. I’ve used it regularly since then, and have seen it go through a number of changes. It’s much more stable now, and they’ve introduced new ways to make groups and share titles. You can see my profile on Mendeley here. On my profile you can see a public group – the one about corpus language studies. I’ve just joined a group about Computer-Assisted Language Learning (CALL)

I find that when I’m in a mood for reading, I come across papers in articles that look quite interesting but are not directly relevant to what I’m doing right now. It’s good to be able to keep a copy with a few clicks, so that I can come back to it later.

I’ve also now discovered that there’s an iPad app that links to Mendeley, and that means you can have your library on the iPad – even offline (I think you have to make sure you’ve already clicked on and so downloaded the papers, though). I’m not sure how much space it’s taking up on my iPad, but at the moment I’ve not used half of the full capactiy yet, so I’m not starting to worry.

Leave a Reply

